top of page
1963 sidelines.png

1960 - 1990

6 League Titles
1 State Championship Title


Screen Shot 2021-08-13 at 7.30.28 AM.png


Middlesex League Co-Champions


Coach Joe Hoague

Captain Dennis Cargill

The 1962 season came down to the Thanksgiving game against Wakefield.  Winner takes the Halloran Trophy. Between the rain and mud, neither team scored and both earned a share in the Championship.

1967 YB 1966 team co champs middlesex_edited.jpg


Middlesex League Co Champions


Coach Joe Hoague

Captain Jake Driscoll

"Outclassing and trouncing" all teams in the league, the Raiders had only 1 loss in the 1966 season leading to a co-Championship shared with the Reading Rockets.

Screen Shot 2021-08-13 at 7.24.51 AM.png


Middlesex League Co-Champions


Coach Bruce MacPherson

Captain John McCormack

Guided by 2nd year Coach Bruce MacPherson, the Red Raiders captured the Middlesex League title after nearly a  decade.  According to the Melrose Log, "the dedication and spirit of the 15 graduating seniors constantly kept the team ready for the opposition."

Screen Shot 2021-08-13 at 7.38.30 AM.png


Middlesex League Champions


Coach Bruce MacPherson

Captain Joe Mercer

A respectable season with a "well deserved co-championship shared with Lexington in a tough Middlesex League," according to the Log.  All-scholastic performances and a win over Wakefield.

1963 team.png


Middlesex League Champions

Class B Co-State Champions


Coach Joe Hoague

Captain Art Stratton

"Predicted to be the best team Melrose High would ever have" according to the log, the Red Raiders did not disappoint.  9-0 on the season including a "shellacking of Belmont and a "trouncing" of  Wakefield.

Screen Shot 2021-08-13 at 7.29.01 AM.png


Middlesex League Co-Champions


Coach Joe Hoague

Captain Peter Hirschfield

"The race for the title went down to the wire with a smashing win over Wakefield on Turkey Day " and Melrose being crowned Champtions of the Middlesex League. 

Screen Shot 2021-08-21 at 10.57.22 AM.png


Middlesex League Champions

MIAA Division 1 State Championship Berth

Undefeated 10-1

Coach Bruce MacPherson

Captain Jim Kelliher

The first Melrose team to head to a Super bowl game at the old Foxboro Stadium in what has been heralded as one of the greatest MIAA Super Bowl games ever played. The Raiders lost a heartbreaker in the final 42 seconds of the game (35-34) against Natick, ranked #1 in New England and 23rd nationally by USA Today but scored more points against Natick than any team all season and won the hearts of the city.

Screen Shot 2021-08-13 at 7.55.25 AM.png


Middlesex League Co-Champions

Undefeated 9-0-1

Coach Tim Morris

Captain Patrick Kent

The first undefeated team in over 30 years, they beat teams with a 20 point margin of victory over the season with the title to be decided on Thanksgiving.  After one of the greatest thanksgiving games in history the game ended in a tie, 14-14 and a shared title.  The controversial "coin toss" denied Melrose the chance to head to the Super Bowl but the team is remembered for their class and their success on and off the field.

bottom of page